gait in biped robotics

I’m new with Choreonoid, however, I have a long experience of simulation of gait of biped robots (Inventions | Free Full-Text | Modelling, Simulation and Control of the Walking of Biped Robotic Devices—Part I : Modelling and Simulation Using Autolev).
I usually model the robot free on space by adding additional degrees of freedom, and, according to the phase of the gait (single or double support) I introduce two different non-olonomic constraints.
So, I have to cope with two different dynamical models (double support, single support right-left), and I have to switch from one to the other during the gait.
The switching is the most critical part of the simulation under two aspects: moving from double to single support I have to guarantee that the would be flying foot has reaction force/torque with the ground precisely equal zero; vice versa, moving from single to double support, approaching the contact of the flying foot with the ground, a compliance has to be introduced moving some joints from position/velocity to torque loop.
If these cautions are not satisfied, spikes in all forces/torques arise.
How are these problems approached in Choreonoid?
I see in the manual that there is a Penetration Block Function, introduced in the Collision Detection, but the description completely hyde what they are really doing.
Can you give me more information, or where can I find them?
Giuseppe

In the constraint-base contact force calculation, it is important to keep a small amount of penertation between two rigid bodies contacting with each other. Otherwise, the contact will occur and disappear in the border of the contact because the simulation itself is discreate.

And keeping the peneration works as a kind of compliance between two bodies, though it is not the original purpose of it. As a result, the contact between the sole and the floor becomes stable.